Premier: Site-specific performance, Vilnius, 2014  06 07 

Contemporary music ensemble Synaesthesis:

Vytautas Oškinis - flute

Artūras Kažimėkas - bass clarinet

Dominykas Grigaliūnas - alto saxophone

Paulius Matuzas - piano

Gediminas Slipkus - electric guitar

Diemantė Merkevičiūtė - violin

Mintautas Kriščiūnas - viola

Gabrielė Dikčiūtė - violoncello

Karolis Variakojis - conductor

flute, bass clarinet, alto saxophone, piano, electric guitar, violin, viola, violoncello and fixed media


‘Reflections’ was written for a site-specific performance which took place at Vilnius Art Academy Chess Hall. Its unique architecture, full of interesting acoustic properties gave an idea for a piece which, one the one hand would reflect the general acoustic phenomena of the chosen space by functioning as a musical installation and on the other hand, would act as an autonomous musical piece. The audience was free to move through the two-floor space where musicians were spread around. There were many options; one could either listen to a single instrument or smaller groups of them or else, immerse oneself into the wide resonance of the space. A listener could also step inside the musical material and be attentive for the tiny details or take a step aside and enjoy the totality.